Korfball Australia is pleased to announce the team for the upcoming 2019 World Korfball Championships has been selected. The tournament, to be played in Durban, South Africa, kicks off on the 1st of August, and runs until the the 10th of August. As has been previously announced, Tim Miller will lead the team as Head Coach, with Sharyn Bungey and Krissy Marshall supporting in Team Management roles.

2019 World Korfball Championships Team


Amy Kubank (Flinders, SA)
Bethan Channing  (Boomers, SA)
Emily Hutchesson (Glenelg, SA)
Georgia Bungey (Arista, SA)
Lauren Charlton (Newcastle, NSW)
Lauren Bungey (Arista, SA)
Tamika Zilm (Nomads, UK)


Andrew Hutchesson (Flinders, SA)
Ben Wallace (Newcastle, NSW)
Cameron McLean (Arista, SA)
Greg Perry (Boomers, Vic)
Jazz Zulfic (Flinders, SA)
Jeffrey Vlietstra (KV Viko, Ned)
Nik Bungey (Arista, SA)
Zac Marshall (Arista, SA)

The team takes a new look and feel to South Africa, with a new coach, seven players returning from last year’s Asia-Oceania Korfball Championships team and eight players making their Open Team or International debut. The full team, and all National Team updates, can be found on the National Team page.

The team is a truly representative one, with players based in 2 continents, 3 countries, 3 Australian states, and representing 7 different clubs. Whilst this presents its challenges, this is a great sign for the ongoing development of Australian Korfball, and we look forward to more widespread representation as our newer regions and clubs continue to grow.

The team is already training together at regular training camps, which will continue until they depart for South Africa.

Good luck to all team members, we wish you all the best for your training’s and tournament, and we know you’ll do Australian Korfball proud.