The IKF has released the schedule for the upcoming 2018 Asia Oceania Korfball Championships, to be held in Saitama, outside Toyko, Japan, from the 29th of July to the 5th of August. The schedule sees 12 teams entered, with the initial competition split into two pools of 6 teams each. Teams will play a round-robin format within their pool, then a single round of cross-over matches, before the rankings round, for a total of 7 matches each. Matches will again be played in 10 minute quarters, with teams permitted only a single timeout for the match.


Australia has been drawn into Pool A, along with Chinese Taipei, India, Korea, the Philippines and Sri Lanka. Pool B contains China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Macao and New Zealand, meaning Australia will play one of these nations in the cross-over matches.


Due to the negligible (or non-existent, depending on where in Australia you are) time difference to Japan, matches will be played in the afternoon or evening Australian time. Australia kicks off their campaign on July 29, against Sri Lanka at noon ACST. The full schedule can be found on the National Team page. Once information on match live streams becomes available, the schedule will be updated with the links.


We hope many of you will be able to tune in and watch, and support the National Team as they look towards qualification for the 2019 World Championships and more.